Loyola University Maryland

Department of Physics

Faculty & Staff

image divider

The physics department faculty teach or manage all of the Loyola physics courses. Areas of interest and expertise cover a wide variety of physics subfields. If you are interested in the physics curriculum or working on a research project, feel free to contact any faculty member to discuss what is available in the department.

Professor Ganem Joseph W. Ganem
Department Chair, Professor
B.S., University of Rochester
M.S., University of Wisconsin
Ph.D., Washington University (St. Louis)
Areas of Interest: condensed matter physics, laser spectroscopy, nuclear magnetic resonance
ganem@loyola.edu, 410-617-2048, KH 212a
Department Chair and Professor, Dr.Jones Randall S. Jones
Associate Professor
B.S., Brown University
Ph.D., Cornell University
Areas of Interest: computational physics, oceanography
rsj@loyola.edu, 410-617-2706, KH 212d
Professor Lowe Mary L. Lowe
Professor
A.B., Harvard University
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Areas of Interest: fluid dynamics, biophysics, physics of medicine, robots in the introductory labs, student projects
mlowe@loyola.edu, 410-617-2709, KH 212b
Professor Derry Gregory N. Derry
Professor
B.S., Union College
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Areas of Interest: experimental condensed matter physics, experimental surface physics, ultrahigh vacuum electron spectroscopy, history and philosophy of physics
gderry@loyola.edu, 410-617-2662, KH 212e
Professor Erdas Andrea Erdas
Associate Professor
B.A., University of Cagliari, Italy
M.A. and Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Areas of Interest: neutrino physics, quantum field theory, Casimir effect
aerdas@loyola.edu, 410-617-2606, KH 214
Reverend Haig Rev. Frank R. Haig, S.J.
Professor Emeritus
B.A., S.T.B., S.T.L., Woodstock College
Ph.L., Bellarmine College
Ph.D., Catholic University of America
Areas of Interest: theoretical physics, nuclear structure, elementary particle physics, cosmology
fhaig@loyola.edu, 410-617-2574, KH 212c
Professor Perry Helene F. Perry
Associate Professor Emerita
A.B., Sweet Briar College
M.A., Johns Hopkins University
Areas of Interest: experimental particle physics, optical physics, physics education research
hperry@loyola.edu, 410-617-2521, KH 216
 Professor Gehrman Charles Gehrman
Part-time Affiliate Instructor
B.A., University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Master's Equivalent
cagehrman@loyola.edu, 410-617-5604, KH 216
 Professor Heyer Inge Heyer
Visiting Assistant Professor
B.A., Smith College
M.S., University of Hawaii at Manoa
Ph.D., University of Wyoming
Areas of interest: Astronomy, physical science education
www.ingeheyer.com
Professor Liang  Zhuohan Liang
Visiting Assistant Professor
B.S., University of Rochester
M.A. and Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Areas of interest: computational physics, insterstellar medium, cosmology, effective teaching techniques
zliang@loyola.edu; 410-617-5648, KH 216
 

Barry Dalrymple
Laboratory Manager
410-617-2572, KH 205