Loyola University Maryland

Department of History

Faculty and Staff

image divider

Administrative Assistant

Mary Pulliam
Administrative Assistant
HU 322A
Telephone: 410-617-2326
Fax: 410-617-2832
mrpulliam@loyola.edu

Chair

Elizabeth Schmidt
Professor and Department Chair
HU 313
410-617-2432
eschmidt@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Teaching: African History; Pre-Colonial to Present; African Women's History. Research: Late Colonial Southern Africa (esp. Zimbabwe and South Africa); Late Colonial West Africa (emphasis on Guinea).

Faculty

 Michele Alacevich
 Director of Global Studies, Assistant Professor
 HU 323
 410-617-5681
 alacevich@loyola.edu
 Areas of Specialization: History of Development; History of Social Sciences; Global History;
 European History

 Rev Charles Borges, S.J.
 Associate Professor
 HU 318
 410-617-2016
 cborges@loyola.edu
 Areas of Specialization: Jesuit History in Asia; Indo-Portuguese History; Goa History

 John Breihan
 Professor
 HU 302
 410-617-2427
 breihan@loyola.edu
 Areas of Specialization: 20th Century American Suburbia; Aviation History; Late 18th-Century
 Britain; Military

 Katherine Stern-Brennan
 Associate Professor
 HU 318
 410-617-2017
 kbrennan@loyola.edu
 Area of Specialization: Early Modern French History

 David Carey Jr
 Doehler Chair in History; Professor
 HU 310
 410-617-2893
 drcarey@loyola.edu
 Areas of Specialization: Latin American History; Indigenous Peoples; Oral History; Gender

 Chuck Cheape

 Kelly DeVries
 Professor
 HU 312
 410-617-2661
 kdevries@loyola.edu
 Area of Specialization: Medieval Military History and Technology; History of Technology;
 Medieval History; Military History

 Chad R. Diehl
 Assistant Professor
 HU 306
 410-617-5531
 crdiehl@loyola.edu

 Bill Donovan 
 Associate Professor
 HU 316
 410-617-2891
 Donovan@loyola.edu
 Area of Specialization: Early Modern Portuguese History

 Jane Edwards
 HU 308
 410-617-2018
 jedwards@loyola.edu
 Area of Specialization: Modern European Intellectual History

 Steven Hughes (on leave 2014-2015)
 Professor
 HU 301
 410-617-2229
 schughes@loyola.edu
 Areas of Specialization: Modern Italian History; Masculinity; History of Crime

 Angela Leonard
 Associate Professor
 HU 311
 410-617-2673
 aleonard@loyola.edu
 Areas of Specialization: African Dispora; Black Female Jazz Singers; Early 19th-Century British and
 American Journalism; 19th Century Propaganda and Political Poetry

 Richard Lutjens
 HU 314
 410-617-5479
 rlutjens@loyola.edu
 Areas of Specialization: Modern Europe; Germany

 Matthew Mulcahy 
 Professor
 HU 309
 410-617-2019
 mmulcahy@loyola.edu
 Areas of Specialization: Colonial America; History of Disasters

 Brandon Parlopiano
 HU 301
 410-617-2229
 btparlopiano@loyola.edu
 Area of Specialization: Medieval Europe

 Thomas R. Pegram
 Professor
 HU 305
 410-617-2856
 tpegram@loyola.edu
 Areas of Specialization: Late 19th/Early 20th-Century American Political and Social History

 Sara Scalenghe
 Associate Professor
 HU 303
 410-617-2017
 sscalenghe@loyola.edu
 Areas of Specialization: Middle East and North Africa; Ottoman Empire; Gender; Disability; Italian
 Colonialism in Libya

 R. Keith Schoppa 
 Formerly Professor and Doehler Chair of Asian History
 kschoppa@loyola.edu
 Areas of Specialization: Chinese Political; Social and Cultural History from 1900 to 1950

 Martha Taylor
 Associate Professor of History and Classics; Chair of the Classics Department
 HU 321B
 410-617-2636
 Department Chair
 mtaylor@loyola.edu
 Classics Homepage

 Joseph Walsh
 Professor of History and Classics
 HU 333
 410-617-2896
 jwalsh@loyola.edu
 Classics Homepage